To write, perchance to dream

August 18, 2011

support and self reliance

Filed under: Observations, randomness — work in progress @ 9:19 am

So I get it from my friends who have adult kids.  They want to make it easier and support their children throughout life, or not.   What can I say?

I don’t believe in it and always ask them to adopt me because I can cook AND clean.   Or at the very least give me a stipend.

Something the Marines tell the recruits resonates in me when I hear them say they continue to support their children.  Its like this, ‘comfort is an illusion, it robs the mind and soul of determination.’  Better to guide them than to regal them with decisions.  Better to have choices than questions about when is the next dole.  They say I am bitter and hurt on the inside.

True, maybe.  But I don’t run to mommy and daddy when I got bills and a family.  I determine my fate and do not answer to anyone for my decisions.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

